My Very First Rant (on my blog anyways); Hey, are you ok?

I will make this one short and sweet.  I don’t mean to offend anyone, especially those who have shown me nothing but support, but I feel like this is something that needs to be said.  

Please stop asking me every two minutes if I’m okay!

 I may be exaggerating a bit, but you get the idea.

Now there are times when it’s appropriate; like when you see me stub my toe, get flustered over relationship garbage, or yes when you know that life just keeps kicking me in the butt.  However, for the slightest little inclinations – not necessary.  I may be Bipolar but I’m human too.  I’m entitled to have a bad day like everyone else here and there.  This may not necessarily mean that I’m on the verge of a mental breakdown.

But in all fairness, there are times I can understand why people may speculate.  I firmly believe I should not be allowed to own and operate a Facebook page.  I am the queen of passive aggressive status updates targeted at my nemesis.  I have the tendency to take a FTW approach when I’m flustered and can feel it building up, and I use FB as a release.

Disclaimer:  I have since been working on this and feel that I have made improvements since I always end up regretting it.

To wrap it all up.  Yes, if you’ve been observant and have seen that I am clearly having a hard time and I am not ok – then go right ahead and ask.  I know that a lot of people ask because they care.  I’ve recently found, however, that some people are just damn nosey.  But if I’m a little pissy because I haven’t had a cup of coffee; I promise I’m not a suicide risk.

I felt the need to post this because I’ve notice that although a lot of people told me after I’ve disclosed my diagnosis “this doesn’t change anything, and this certainly doesn’t change how I view you” but for some (not all) I feel like it has.  And I’m sure other’s with BD who have felt the strain of this.  We know (most of) you are asking because you care, but when it becomes repetitive we feel like we’re wearing our disorder on our sleeve, like we’re just a walking mental illness or ticking time bomb.

xoxo Much love, but simmer down now.

This entry was published on December 6, 2011 at 5:07 am. It’s filed under rant, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “My Very First Rant (on my blog anyways); Hey, are you ok?

  1. If you can write like this, you are healthy enough to be who you want to be. 🙂

    Cheers!

  2. well written, and well said

  3. i TOTALLY hear you, lady. well done.

    also – for the record, in internet speak FTW also means “for the win.” Clearly, i was confused up top 😉 took me a second.

    also – i used to have a passive agressive status update issue. Then I read this, and my life was changed. Ready? —> http://www.hollabackhealth.com/2011/03/five-reasons-you-need-to-stop-with-the-passive-aggressive-tweeting-already/

Leave a Reply

